Cowboys vs. Indians

The Battle of a Little Big Puck is a traditional hockey game that has taken place in Maple Creek, SK (my hometown!) for 34 years. The game is made up of two teams. One team consists of any local ranchers or farmers who are (or have been) members of any rodeo association. The second team are all members of the Nekaneet reserve which is located 41 kms south of Maple Creek.

During the first two periods of the hockey game the teams wear standard hockey gear. But, after the second period flood, the players come out wearing their traditional clothing. As you can see from the pictures below, that consists of chaps, head dresses, cowboy hats and any other piece of clothing they wish to use.

 

The point of the game? To celebrate the coexistent of these two groups of people and our heritage. Dale Mosquito, a well respected member of the reserve states that “this hockey game is a point of pride for the people of Nekaneet, whose ancestors lived here long before the cowboys arrived”.

As I am sure you could have guessed, this celebration has brought on many comments accusing my town, and the people in it, of being racist and continuing to segregate the Indians from the white people of the community. My personal opinion? IT DOESN’T CONCERN THEM!

As you can imagine, coming to University and being told that reffering to First Nations people as Indians is politically incorrect. Selena Taypotat, an Executive Assistant for Chief and Council of the Nekaneet First Nation was asked if they were offended by this term. She stated”No. That’s what we used a long time ago, our First Nations are Indigenous people, it’s politically correct… but no, we’re just Cowboys and Indians out here and it always has been, you know.”

I have spent the last four years trying to figure out where my town has gone wrong. How are there so many uneducated people?! WHY can’t they see that we are continuing the segregation and allowing history to repeat itself?!

It wasn’t until this past hockey game that I finally understood it. I hung out with the players after the game and it just all made sense. The Indians were bugging the cowboys, and the cowboys were taunting the Indians. This is a true celebration. We are all apart of one community and we all love and support each other.

BOTTOM LINE – I am PROUD of where I come from and I support what this hockey game stands for. It’s as simple as that!

WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS? COMMENT BELOW!

I am posting 2 articles below that I would LOVE for you to take the time to read.
http://onlyagame.wbur.org/2012/03/10/little-big-puck-hockeyhttp://www.swbooster.com/news/2016/2/23/hockey-a-key-component-of-bridging-cultural-gaps-in-rural-saskat.html

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Cowboys vs. Indians

  1. cameronmohan

    Hey Taryn, interesting post! Also pretty relevant considering some of the incidences at our school in the last few years. I don’t know about anyone else but these images trigger memories of the cheerleader instagram controversy that happened in our…1st or 2nd year? However I think there’s a key difference between Maple Creek’s tradition and the cheerleader thing, and it basically boils down to who is doing the representing. With the cheerleader thing it was a lot of non-aboriginal girls representing aboriginal people, presumably without consideration for the meaning behind the garb, or the sensitive history of the relationship between FN and Settlers. But with the Battle of Big Little Puck, who is playing the part of Nekaneet Indians in the hockey game? Nekaneet Indians are. I think the fact this is a representation that they are choosing for themselves on their own terms is what makes it different (that goes for the usage of “indian” too). Some people might disagree, and I invite their critiques, but I think as an anglo-white person should never presume tell a First Nations group that their chosen way to represent themselves is offensive against themselves. That would be silly and presumptuous. “To celebrate the coexistence of these two groups of people and our heritage” is a pretty rad cause, especially if it’s helping to facilitate friendly relations between the two communities. And since Nekaneet participants view the game as “a point of pride for the people of Nekaneet, whose ancestors lived here long before the cowboys arrived” it actually kind of seems like a special honour that the people of Mable Creek are invited to share in it. The only disclaimer I’d add is that these things probably need to be worked out on a community-by-community basis. First Nations are not one nation but many, each with their own history and customs, so just because this sort of tradition works well for Maple Creek and Nekaneet doesn’t mean it would be appropriate across the board.

    Thanks for the thought provoking post Taryn 🙂

  2. tarynstork

    Thank you for such an insightful comment, Cam! I absolutely agree with you. When the cheerleading incident came up, I too felt that it was wrong. I did not think that it was necessarily handled in a beneficial way, but I understood the frustrated and hurt feelings that some people were feeling. You are so right in stating that “the fact this is a representation that they are choosing for themselves on their own terms is what makes it different”. Those are my feelings too!

    The reason I made this post was for people to see my background and why I have the mindset about First Nations that I do.

    Thanks again, Cam!

  3. Gillian Maher

    Hey Taryn, I’m a little fuzzy on where you actually stand with this game. In the middle you’re asking questions how your town doesn’t know that what they’re doing is continuing that segregation but at the end say you DO support it? I’m just a little confused. As for the actual game itself, I think it holds merit in it’s idea however, I have to agree that the execution of it is perhaps not the most congenial. It’s neat that they get to wear their traditional garb to play hockey (although… that kind of scares me safety wise! Maybe add some helmets :)) but, the idea that afterwards they’re still segregated and taunting each other? Perhaps it would be better if they mixed the teams… which would FURTHER illustrate the point of them working together?On the note of calling First Nations “Indians”, I have talked to an elder about this recently as well and she said it’s not offensive to them. However, I think as white people it is a form of respect. It in my mind is an equivalent to African American people using the “N” word to talk about themselves and their friends but, I’d never walk about dropping the “N” word because that’s disrespectful. Although it’s kind of a double edged knife when it comes to those terms, I think it’s mostly based out of respect. Thanks for sharing though, it’s always interesting to see what other communities are doing in regards to municipal reconciliation.

    • tarynstork

      Thanks for the comment! The purpose of me posing the questions such as “How are there so many uneducated people?! WHY can’t they see that we are continuing the segregation and allowing history to repeat itself?!” was simply me expressing my initial thoughts once I attended University. I later stated how my mindset shifted 🙂

      The taunting and teasing after the game is simply all in fun and done out of true friendship. I would have to disagree with your suggestion of mixing up the teams. I believe that would take away from the purpose and beauty of this game. The people participating are the ones who created the game and they see this as a way of celebration. Mixing the teams would take away from the purpose of the game altogether.

      Thanks again for the comment!

  4. kaylaonu

    This is such an interesting and insightful post Taryn, thanks for sharing! I also agree with Gillian’s comment above stating that we use the term FN out of respect as white people- because it was what we were taught to do. I find it really interesting that this is even an event that happens because of the fact that it is probably publicly shamed by society- BUT, what I do like, is that everyone is in on it. There’s a huge difference between mocking someone or a culture that you have no association or connection with, and doing something because you really and truly are connected and a part of it. My initial thoughts too, were wow, how is this a real thing that happens, but after further thought, and reading your opinion on it, i agree that it is a great expression of community and connectedness. Very interesting topic, I love that you shared this! Thanks!

    • Gillian Maher

      Thanks for clarifying, Taryn. I like that you made the distinction that its not ridicule taunting rather, merely in jest– that definitely makes a big difference. Thanks for sharing again, it’s really interesting to see what other communities are up too!

  5. Ashton Mills

    You’ve written a very thought provoking post, Taryn. Like Cameron, I first thought of the incident that happened a few years ago concerning the U of R cheer team. At the beginning of the post, I was immediately “on edge” at the thought of First Nations culture being appropriated, however, as I continued to read your post, I realized that it is not my place to judge. It seems that the Nekaneet people of your community take pride in being part of the game, and while their opinions do not speak for all First Nations people, each community is different. I’m still not sure how to feel about the game, but I’m so glad you wrote a post on it! I think that a good post is one that leaves others really considering what you have written and reflecting on their own beliefs and experiences.

Leave a comment